Goodbye Cleanse, Hello Cleanliness

Day 4.  I gave up.

The symptoms from yesterday, apparently, are normal.  It’s the sickness that’s been building in your body that is being released, so of course, there will be physical discomfort.

Me and Mellow, Enjoying the Breeze

However, with zero energy and zero focus, I was basically a cardboard cutout of myself, barely even able to stand upright.  My body needed sustenance. Robert, my boss and mentor, suggested that cleanses are healthy but with the right preparation.  I now agree, as I had none.

While my cleanse lasted half the minimum amount of time suggested, I did gain insight.  My body, overall, feels healthier.  I’m drinking more than 8 glasses of water a day, and I just feel clean.

My goal is to not consume processed anything, including so-called “healthier” snacks, like granola bars, most peanut butters, veggie chips.  Last night, I baked my own granola, with organic maple syrup, cinnamon, sliced raw almonds, and dried raisins.  Since I’m vegetarian, I plan on making protein shakes on days I exercise heavily, using nonfat Greek Yoghurt, almond milk, water, and some form of fruit.   Coffee will still remain a staple; however, I’d like to stick to half-caff the majority of the week, so when I do choose to indulge in fully caffeinated, it actually takes affect!

My friend Zakk and I visited the Farmer’s Market up north, in the Triangle, and they produce vegetables from local farmers that are in season.  This helps the local economy, but also cuts down on pollution, because foods aren’t shipped in from miles and miles away, and because of this, aren’t as damaged.

I understand why so many people get annoyed with these types of health choices.  It takes effort and research (oh no!).  But, like deciding which book to read next, or what movie to see at the theatre—food is just as important to choose wisely.

Here’s an excellent site to see what foods are grown in season near you: http://www.sustainabletable.org/shop/seasonal/

Thanks for sticking with me through this! Hope you’re all feeling healthy and energized 🙂

About Amanda McMullen

Hey, there! My name is Amanda (Kimmerly) McMullen. I devote my time and talent to making manuscripts publisher-ready. If you have an unedited book of any genre and need help tackling your goals, please connect! www.polishedpearcreative.com. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Goodbye Cleanse, Hello Cleanliness

  1. jorge says:

    Good job with that last blog Amanda, you really give good insight from your personal experiences. I have also started a more natural diet, could be the weather. Granted, Lufkin’s farmer’s market isn’t grand or open everyday but I try and get fresh vegetables from the smaller grocer’s not like wal-mart. My girlfriend and I have been cooking more at home, eating more greens, fruits and such good stuff. I will start to research more about the area’s available produce. I think it would be awesome if you posted your granola recipe. 🙂

    I would like to offer a mustard chicken recipe but I know you don’t eat meat. 🙂

    Thanks, and many hugs from EASTEX!

    • kimmerlyaj says:

      Jorge! I didn’t know you had a *snickers* GIRLFRIEND! 😀 That’s so cool that you two are choosing to eat healthy! I know Lufkin doesn’t provide the most variety, but I imagine if the demand is high enough, that could very well change. Another option: growing your own vegetables! I tried this late last Spring, but my lack of skill plus the unbearable heat killed that attempt quickly. Right now would be the perfect temperature to grow things, though. My current task, as far as keeping things alive, is maintaining the orchid Preston sent me as a Valentine’s Day gift. It came in a pot that was closed, and the instructions said it needed a holed pot, so I got that, and am watering it once a week, letting the water float out, as to not cause rot, and also giving it sunlight once a month! So far, it is still alive!

      Good luck to you and your gf. Will you two be coming to Austin for SXSW again? Would love to see you! 🙂

      xo,
      Amanda J.

      oh, recipe for granola:

      3 cups organic oats, 1/2 cup grade b maple syrup (although grade a is better for stickiness, i prefer the taste and health benefits of grade b—it isn’t processed), 1 tablespoon cinnamon (or more, if you’re a fiend like me!), 1/2 cup sliced raw almonds. Bake this at 325 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add dried fruit after the granola has cooled. If you like it a little sweeter, you can add agave or honey to the mix, before baking.

  2. Christine Faris says:

    Hey, you tried something most Americans wouldn’t try. Here’s to sustainability and healthiness!

    Love and Hugs,
    C

  3. kimmerlyaj says:

    Love and Hugs to you, too, C. I hope you’re doing okay. Just saw your message about your father 😦 Please keep me updated. Wishing you and your whole family wellness.

    Amanda J.

  4. Glad you’re feeling better 🙂

Leave a comment